Jspital3's Blog

Skype March 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jspital3 @ 1:36 pm

It seems that no matter how uncomfortable I am with Skype there is no way around it for me!  Along with our class project using Skype I have also been introduced to it at my office.  Our office has just received some grant money so that we can interview defendants from our office instead of going into the jail everyday.  I am a face to face person, not that Skype isn’t, but it just seems more comfortable to interview in person.

However, I do completely understand that technology changes lives and I am 100% for it changing lives.  I do feel that it is a great way for many to communicate whether it’s talking to out-of-town relatives or having a business meeting.  I do also think that using it as a teacher will benefit student achievements and their future involving technology.  Using Skype can introduce students to a whole new world.  They can interview and pen pal with other students across the world.  That to me is awesome!

I know that I am going to have to step out of my comfort zone and except Skype.  I feel that once I do my interview for this class, I will be able to enjoy Skype and hopefully be more comfortable at work as well trying Skype out with my friends, family or classmates.

 

One Response to “Skype”

  1. Steve Ransom Says:

    We all need to step out of our comfort zones… often. It is those very comfort zones that inhibit us from growing. I had to get out of my own comfort zone to set up this Skype project, too :-)

    All of these tools have the potential to make learning more relevant and meaningful for our students. Who can argue with that? As I have said (and will continue to say), it is the teaching that is the hard part… and the vision for what learning CAN be rather than how it has been. Using the tools is easy. That’s why they are so often used in meaningless and trivial ways by teachers. The challenge is to use them in meaningful and significant ways, both professionally and with our students!

    I really appreciate your transparency here.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.